How Many Types of Dismissals are there in Cricket?

In cricket, term dismissal” means the batter is OUT!
After getting OUT, the batter must have to leave the crease and another batter from the very same team comes to the pitch to take guard and play for its team.

In regardance with ICC (International Cricket Council), there are 11 different ways with which a better can be dismissed and we will discuss them all today.

Out of 11 dismissals, top 5 mentioned below are the basic ones and happens most of the time but the rest 6 are rare to see in a cricket match.

Bowled

If a legal cricket delivery misses the batter’s bat standing at the striker’s end and hits the stumps and eventually the bails come off then the batter is out and such dismissal is known as “bowled”.

The bails must come off the stumps for a batter to be out bowled.Otherwise, It wouldn’t be an out and the batter will stay on the crease to continue its innings.

Caught

If the batter hits the ball and a fielder catches it before the ball hits the ground.

LBW (Leg Before Wicket)

If the ball completely misses the batter’s bat and gloves etc and hit its leg in-line with the stumps.


Fielding side must appeal for an lbw to get the wicket of batter. The ball must not hit outside the line of leg stump.

 

Hit-Wicket

If the batter hits the stumps either with equipment, body or bat and bails come off whilst the ball is being delivered to the batter.

 

Stumped

If the batter is outside popping crease line and wicketkeeper, after collecting the ball hits the stumps then batter is out.

 

Run Out

If the batter runs for a run and in the meantime fielder after collecting the ball throws it to the stumps and it hits the stumps and neither bat nor the batter has crossed the popping crease line and grounded bat or any part of the body then the batter is out i.e Run Out.

 

_________________________________________________________________________

Handled The Ball

If the batter intentionally tries to stop ball to hit the stumps through the hand which isn’t holding the bat.

BUT!

The law was used to be a way to dismiss the batter but in 2017 it was integrated into the Law on Obstructing The Field.

An Exception was provided in the case that if a batter “unintentionally” held the ball to avoid any injury.

So,
to elaborate the Law On Obstructing The Field, We have got the Official Stance Of ICC regarding this issue for you.

_________________________________________________________________________

Obstructing The Field

If a batter deliberately obstructs the fielder from catching, throwing or retrieving the ball once it’s in play.

Batter can also be given out by umpire if it tries to obstruct the ball, thrown by a fielder attempting a run-out.

Timed-Out

After the dismissal of a better, the next better must have to come to the pitch, take guard and must have to be ready to face the next delivery with-in 3
minutes.


Otherwise, the batter will be out without even playing a single ball.

Hit The Ball Twice

If a ball is delivered to the batter and batter hits the ball twice deliberately before it reaches the fielder.

Retired Out

This sub-heading found to be under-rated but full of mess.
For this particular sub-heading, we spent a lot of time to bring the best out for you and so that, you may not have any doubt regarding it.

Here we got an official verdict of ICC regarding this.

 

To Top